Free CPAP Advice and Sleep Apnea Treatment Help Board • View topic - Resmed S9 autoset or elite
FAQ
It is currently Sat Aug 08, 2020 9:51 pm

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Please consider a small PayPal donation to FreeCPAPAdvice.com above.Thank you so much for your support!



Author Message
reikisponge
Unread post  Post subject: Resmed S9 autoset or elite  |  Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 11:28 am

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 8:29 am
Posts: 8
PAP Machine: Resmed S9 Elite cpap
Humidifier: H5i
Pressure Setting: 11

Offline
I just got sleep study done and my sleep doctor assigned me Resmed S9. When the DME called to make appointment, I asked them and they said I cannot have the 'autoset' model. I saw most reviews and online forum rave about S9 autoset. Is it necessary for me to have autoset? If it is a far superior machine (I know it does auto-titration for each breath), what can I say to my sleep doctor to convince her to change the prescription give me an Autoset?


Top
TheLankyLefty
Unread post  Post subject: Re: Resmed S9 autoset or elite  |  Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 11:51 am
User avatar
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 10:22 am
Posts: 4688
PAP Mask: Practically tried them all.
PAP Machine: Use Phillips Respironics System One APAP with Aflex for mask testing
Humidifier: None
Pressure Setting: When testing, I use APAP with a range of 5-10

Offline
The machines are billed under the same HCPCS code: E0601. They cost the same. You can mention that you wouldn't buy a car without A/C when you could have a car with A/C for the same price. It also gives you more options and flexibility with your treatment long term. It is also fully data capable, so that you can track your therapy and remain engaged for long term success with your PAP therapy.

You may just want to start with asking for a script for the Autoset from your doctor. He/she may not need much convincing at all. If so, mention the above. If your doctor still won't yield, check with your insurance and see if you can use an online CPAP supplier like CPAP.com.

I think that your DME is trying to stick you with a lesser machine. Do you have, or did you see , the actual wording of the prescription?

I don't know if its necessary...but it can do all the Elite can do and much more. I think it would benefit you in the long run. Your success with this is what it's all about. :)

_________________
TheLankyLefty
http://www.youtube.com/TheLankyLefty27
Consider being our Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/FreeCPAPAdvice
Shop Amazon and help out FreeCPAPAdvice by using this link: http://amzn.to/2dY19oA
Information on FreeCPAPAdvice.com should not be considered medical advice. Seek your physicians advice before seeking treatment for medical conditions. Information posted on the FreeCPAPAdvice.com website and forum is opinion and not statements of fact.


Top
reikisponge
Unread post  Post subject: Re: Resmed S9 autoset or elite  |  Posted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 8:46 am

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 8:29 am
Posts: 8
PAP Machine: Resmed S9 Elite cpap
Humidifier: H5i
Pressure Setting: 11

Offline
My sleep doctor has been avoiding my calls and even the clerk who picked up the phone knew my name already. Since I couldn't reach her, I faxed a letter instead, explaining why I need that Autoset unit (for the long term flexibility and success of the treatment) My cpap/mask fitting is thursday, hopefully she did order the Autoset before that... if they give me S9 elite, I should reject and ask for prescription, right?


Top
TheLankyLefty
Unread post  Post subject: Re: Resmed S9 autoset or elite  |  Posted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 12:41 pm
User avatar
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 10:22 am
Posts: 4688
PAP Mask: Practically tried them all.
PAP Machine: Use Phillips Respironics System One APAP with Aflex for mask testing
Humidifier: None
Pressure Setting: When testing, I use APAP with a range of 5-10

Offline
If having an Autoset were that important to me, then I wouldn't accept anything less than that. You can always ask to see the prescription that the DME has on hand. If its fairly generic, then it can be used to make a purchase online.

That's good you faxed it. Keep 'em on their toes! :)

_________________
TheLankyLefty
http://www.youtube.com/TheLankyLefty27
Consider being our Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/FreeCPAPAdvice
Shop Amazon and help out FreeCPAPAdvice by using this link: http://amzn.to/2dY19oA
Information on FreeCPAPAdvice.com should not be considered medical advice. Seek your physicians advice before seeking treatment for medical conditions. Information posted on the FreeCPAPAdvice.com website and forum is opinion and not statements of fact.


Top
reikisponge
Unread post  Post subject: Re: Resmed S9 autoset or elite  |  Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:05 pm

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 8:29 am
Posts: 8
PAP Machine: Resmed S9 Elite cpap
Humidifier: H5i
Pressure Setting: 11

Offline
I just received a letter saying I have severe OSA and CPAP pressure at 16cmH2O. and checked a pre-written item that I will be contacted by the DME for fitting. Signed by the doctor. Is that considered a prescription?


Top
reikisponge
Unread post  Post subject: Re: Resmed S9 autoset or elite  |  Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:15 pm

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 8:29 am
Posts: 8
PAP Machine: Resmed S9 Elite cpap
Humidifier: H5i
Pressure Setting: 11

Offline
Also, if I use the prescription saying 16cmH2O... do DME put a range of pressure to Autoset or any other APAP? like 8-16cmH2O ,or do we have to ask them to set both APAP and CPAP mode pressures?


Top
TheLankyLefty
Unread post  Post subject: Re: Resmed S9 autoset or elite  |  Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 7:24 am
User avatar
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 10:22 am
Posts: 4688
PAP Mask: Practically tried them all.
PAP Machine: Use Phillips Respironics System One APAP with Aflex for mask testing
Humidifier: None
Pressure Setting: When testing, I use APAP with a range of 5-10

Offline
reikisponge wrote:
I just received a letter saying I have severe OSA and CPAP pressure at 16cmH2O. and checked a pre-written item that I will be contacted by the DME for fitting. Signed by the doctor. Is that considered a prescription?
That's pretty much a presciption for straight CPAP. You can still get the Auto version and just have them set it to CPAP mode and 16cmH20 like the script says. Remember, this comes down to a billing issue. The Elite and Autoset are both billed the same, meaning that they cost the same.

reikisponge wrote:
do DME put a range of pressure to Autoset or any other APAP? like 8-16cmH2O ,or do we have to ask them to set both APAP and CPAP mode pressures?
No, there will be no range with CPAP 16. It never moves from 16cmH20. The Autoset (APAP) can be set for a range like 8-16, the Elite can't.

To get to the crux of your question: The Elite can only be set to one pressure....that's it. The Autoset can be set to just one pressure also in CPAP mode. You can also use it in APAP mode and have a range set that is appropriate for you.

In your case the Autoset would likely be very beneficial. 16cmH20 is considered to be a fairly high pressure. Only your doctor knows, but it may be possible that you don't need 16cmH20 the entire night....maybe just on your back while in REM. This is where it can be more comfortable for you to have a pressure range (usually closer than 8-16) for those times where 16 isn't needed, but 12cmH20 works just fine.

They won't set both modes. Only one can be set. From the prescription, that will be CPAP. This is where you need to really lobby for yourself if you want the Autoset. "Sure, set me up with what the prescription says, but do it with an Autoset so I have more flexibility down the road."

Remember that ultimately you are paying for the machine. Remember that any online retailer would love to have your business and give you exactly what you want at a much better price while still honoring your prescription.

_________________
TheLankyLefty
http://www.youtube.com/TheLankyLefty27
Consider being our Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/FreeCPAPAdvice
Shop Amazon and help out FreeCPAPAdvice by using this link: http://amzn.to/2dY19oA
Information on FreeCPAPAdvice.com should not be considered medical advice. Seek your physicians advice before seeking treatment for medical conditions. Information posted on the FreeCPAPAdvice.com website and forum is opinion and not statements of fact.


Top
reikisponge
Unread post  Post subject: Re: Resmed S9 autoset or elite  |  Posted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 6:38 pm

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 8:29 am
Posts: 8
PAP Machine: Resmed S9 Elite cpap
Humidifier: H5i
Pressure Setting: 11

Offline
Jason,
Thank you so much for taking your time to answer my questions.
My doctor still didn't answer phone call or reply my fax. I went to the fitting anyway. DME told me I can take home the S9 Elite and swap to S9 Autoset as soon as they receive my doctor's modified prescription/approval within 30 days.
I was eager to get the treatment and took it. I hope I didn't make a big mistake. In any case, I will keep on bugging the doctor. BTW, it was a typo 13cmH2O not 16.

I did read my first night of data via Sleepyhead software (Thanks to you! your effort of tutorial youtube video)

I found the mask was off for 2-3 times for 15-20mins... I think I went to bathroom... and my AHI is 64.78 for almost 4 hours of recording. First 30mins I think I was still awake, then obstructive apnea soooo many times throughout the whole sleep... only a few minutes of no events ... I verified those OA are more than 10 seconds... I eventually knocked off the mask to the floor at 4:30am... I didn't know I have so many OA and a couple of CA during the course of my sleep. Maybe it's too soon to say, but I think high AHI means the pressure of 13 is not enough. I am sure the mask didn't leak. I woke a few times and still remembered I checked for leaks. Average Leaks=0.96 and 95%Leaks= 14.4. I guess I will wait for a few more days of data, then contact my doctor to show the proof that higher pressure is needed and Autoset is needed! :)


Top
TheLankyLefty
Unread post  Post subject: Re: Resmed S9 autoset or elite  |  Posted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:19 pm
User avatar
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 10:22 am
Posts: 4688
PAP Mask: Practically tried them all.
PAP Machine: Use Phillips Respironics System One APAP with Aflex for mask testing
Humidifier: None
Pressure Setting: When testing, I use APAP with a range of 5-10

Offline
I'm glad the SleepyHead video helped!

What mask are you using? The answer to the mystery could be found there.

Also, if the mask was off that long and the machine was left on, that is going to skew the heck out of the data.

_________________
TheLankyLefty
http://www.youtube.com/TheLankyLefty27
Consider being our Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/FreeCPAPAdvice
Shop Amazon and help out FreeCPAPAdvice by using this link: http://amzn.to/2dY19oA
Information on FreeCPAPAdvice.com should not be considered medical advice. Seek your physicians advice before seeking treatment for medical conditions. Information posted on the FreeCPAPAdvice.com website and forum is opinion and not statements of fact.


Top
reikisponge
Unread post  Post subject: Re: Resmed S9 autoset or elite  |  Posted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:34 pm

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 8:29 am
Posts: 8
PAP Machine: Resmed S9 Elite cpap
Humidifier: H5i
Pressure Setting: 11

Offline
I'm using Resmed Mirage Quattro.... like some other youtube video, I did check those clips are clipped on properly and the cushions are all the way in.
I did have SmartStart on, so it will turn off the air when I take off the mask. It will turn on the air when I put the mask on. So, should I turn the machine off when I go to bathroom (for the data and average calculation sake)?


Top
TheLankyLefty
Unread post  Post subject: Re: Resmed S9 autoset or elite  |  Posted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:52 pm
User avatar
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 10:22 am
Posts: 4688
PAP Mask: Practically tried them all.
PAP Machine: Use Phillips Respironics System One APAP with Aflex for mask testing
Humidifier: None
Pressure Setting: When testing, I use APAP with a range of 5-10

Offline
You're right that it may be too soon to tell just yet, but definitely keep an eye on it.

You could very likely be correct that 13cmH20 isn't appropriate for you. Did you ever get to see the Titration data from your sleep study?

_________________
TheLankyLefty
http://www.youtube.com/TheLankyLefty27
Consider being our Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/FreeCPAPAdvice
Shop Amazon and help out FreeCPAPAdvice by using this link: http://amzn.to/2dY19oA
Information on FreeCPAPAdvice.com should not be considered medical advice. Seek your physicians advice before seeking treatment for medical conditions. Information posted on the FreeCPAPAdvice.com website and forum is opinion and not statements of fact.


Top
Foster
Unread post  Post subject: Re: Resmed S9 autoset or elite  |  Posted: Sat Jun 22, 2013 11:02 pm

Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 10:36 pm
Posts: 4
PAP Mask: ResMed Quattro Air
PAP Machine: ResMed S9 Elite
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
Pressure Setting: 9

Offline
Hello, I'm very glad to find this forum and your videos. I've been reading this thread and just want to add that my sleep Dr. does not prescribe Auto cpap machines either.

I'm wondering if this is common.

Perhaps the Auto machines would remove the need for more frequent office visits. That would make this a conflict of interest between the Dr. and the patient.


Top
TheLankyLefty
Unread post  Post subject: Re: Resmed S9 autoset or elite  |  Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 9:08 pm
User avatar
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 10:22 am
Posts: 4688
PAP Mask: Practically tried them all.
PAP Machine: Use Phillips Respironics System One APAP with Aflex for mask testing
Humidifier: None
Pressure Setting: When testing, I use APAP with a range of 5-10

Offline
Foster wrote:
I've been reading this thread and just want to add that my sleep Dr. does not prescribe Auto cpap machines either.

I'm wondering if this is common.

Perhaps the Auto machines would remove the need for more frequent office visits. That would make this a conflict of interest between the Dr. and the patient.
The physicians that I work with all prescribe APAPs with very tight ranges. If someone needs 16cmH20 for supine REM, then they would have a lower end of around 12 at the lowest. APAPs do adjust, but they aren't real fast like an AutoSV unit for Complex Sleep Apnea.

They have found that their patients that they have on APAPs with a tight "customized" ranges are far more successful at their PAP therapy long term.

To answer your question though, I don't know. Many people who have posted on this forum say that their doctors are very much against APAPs because they don't respond fast enough. They're right...kind of. These are the doctors that think 4-20cmH20 is going to work. It doesn't long term. It's okay for zeroing in on a pressure range, but long term is foolish.

It's hard to know what the reasoning is for it. Maybe a lack of understanding the technology behind APAPs? I think the doctors that actually track patient outcomes (really the only metric that is important) find that APAPs benefit everyone.

_________________
TheLankyLefty
http://www.youtube.com/TheLankyLefty27
Consider being our Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/FreeCPAPAdvice
Shop Amazon and help out FreeCPAPAdvice by using this link: http://amzn.to/2dY19oA
Information on FreeCPAPAdvice.com should not be considered medical advice. Seek your physicians advice before seeking treatment for medical conditions. Information posted on the FreeCPAPAdvice.com website and forum is opinion and not statements of fact.


Top
reikisponge
Unread post  Post subject: Re: Resmed S9 autoset or elite  |  Posted: Mon Jun 24, 2013 10:07 am

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 8:29 am
Posts: 8
PAP Machine: Resmed S9 Elite cpap
Humidifier: H5i
Pressure Setting: 11

Offline
No, they didn't give me the titration detailed data. They just told me 'severe OSA', and had 1 hour and a half of 'rebound REM sleep'. Maybe I should ask for the detailed report and charts.

I am having better number in AHI past weekend 30 and 20-ish, but my usage on average is 3-4 hours because I unconsciously knocked the mask off and put it back on when I realized.

BTW, is the graph that has no events are the time of my REM sleep? What REM looks like in the chart?


Top
TheLankyLefty
Unread post  Post subject: Re: Resmed S9 autoset or elite  |  Posted: Mon Jun 24, 2013 2:45 pm
User avatar
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 10:22 am
Posts: 4688
PAP Mask: Practically tried them all.
PAP Machine: Use Phillips Respironics System One APAP with Aflex for mask testing
Humidifier: None
Pressure Setting: When testing, I use APAP with a range of 5-10

Offline
reikisponge wrote:
BTW, is the graph that has no events are the time of my REM sleep? What REM looks like in the chart?
I have no idea. Labs use different reports.

I forgot to mention in my last post. Definitely turn the machine off when you get up to use the restroom. This has caused some people problems with compliance reporting and have had their machines taken away.

_________________
TheLankyLefty
http://www.youtube.com/TheLankyLefty27
Consider being our Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/FreeCPAPAdvice
Shop Amazon and help out FreeCPAPAdvice by using this link: http://amzn.to/2dY19oA
Information on FreeCPAPAdvice.com should not be considered medical advice. Seek your physicians advice before seeking treatment for medical conditions. Information posted on the FreeCPAPAdvice.com website and forum is opinion and not statements of fact.


Top
reikisponge
Unread post  Post subject: Re: Resmed S9 autoset or elite  |  Posted: Fri May 01, 2020 3:18 pm

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 8:29 am
Posts: 8
PAP Machine: Resmed S9 Elite cpap
Humidifier: H5i
Pressure Setting: 11

Offline
Hi, almost 7 years later, saw your videos again and have some questions.
I have been using the same resmed S9 cpap. I changed the pressure settings based on my AHI index . After few months of using cpap, I also lost some weight with keto diet and the AHI level goes down to below 5 mostly.

I re-read our conversation and noticed your last post "... Caused some people problems with compliance reporting and had their machines taken away"
Don't we own the machine? How often do we need to go back to the doctor for sleep study? I never got a call to follow up. Maybe I bug them too much about the autoset I wanted initially LOL.
Because of my first doctor being non responsive, I didn't go back to her or anyone else after. Basically I simply read my own sleepyhead chart and AHI and adjust up and down the pressure myself. Is this the way to go or should I go get another sleep study with another doctor?

Thanks... Keep doing what you are doing and helped so many people!


Top
LSAT
Unread post  Post subject: Re: Resmed S9 autoset or elite  |  Posted: Sat May 02, 2020 11:56 am

Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 9:40 am
Posts: 614
Location: WI
PAP Mask: F & P Vitera
PAP Machine: Airsense 10 Autoset
Pressure Setting: 12-20

Offline
Compliance is only during the first 90 days..The insurance company wants to be sure you are using the machine before they pay for it. After 7 years, I think you are fine without a follow up.


Top
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Print view

Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
Jump to:  


Delete all board cookies | The team | All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
DAJ Glass 2 template created by Dustin Baccetti
id="Mask Bright" style="width:728px;margin:auto;float:center";z-index:8">